Home > Thoughts > My name is Steve, and I’m addicted to technology. [Hi Steve!]

My name is Steve, and I’m addicted to technology. [Hi Steve!]

December 11, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

There, I said it. I knew it deep down, down in the crevasses of my gadget-loving heart, but it wasn’t until I tried to plug one of my numerous devices into an outlet that was already full of devices that it hit me. I’ve got a problem. And the problem within a problem is that I, one of the big proponents of “convergence” in technology, the guy who used to read books on his iPhone of all things, now seem to be duplicating tasks just so I can play with a new toy.

My next phone purchase

My next phone purchase

I sat down last night and counted my crap:

  • MacBook Pro
  • Samsung Chromebook
  • iPad
  • iPhone
  • Nook Color running Android
  • Kobo e-reader

Doesn’t sound like a lot just yet, does it? But then I realized how much I seem to be specializing.

I use the MacBook Pro primarily for business, and I found that my writing suffered while using it because I couldn’t just get away from “work” and into that writing mode, if that makes any sense. So I bought a Samsung Chromebook for writing only, and it’s great. Super light weight, long battery life, yes it works offline, and I can open just one tab for Google Docs and sit down and write.

I’ve had an iPhone since the original version, never thought to get an iPad because to me it was a ‘tweener, something in between my iPhone and Mac, and unnecessary. So I bought a Nook Color for reading, but that didn’t last long until I rooted it to Android and it became a small tablet. That led into the iPad of course, and then I decided to appropriate my son’s unused Kobo e-ink reader for when I was away and reading outside. On my last trip I actually packed three different devices solely that I could read a book wherever, whenever. Seriously. Three. And it’s not four because I was bringing my phone anyway.

Goodness gracious. It hit me that I now had FOUR devices I could read books on, and I spent an entire day trying to figure out how best to sync* among them so I wasn’t losing my page. Do I now need four different reading devices? Two different laptops? Two tablets?

* My most recent solution for syncing sideloaded content, outside of my iDevice-only post, is this: emailing a .mobi file (after converting it from ePub using Calibre) to my Kindle address. By sending the file into Amazon’s cloud, it will now sync across all Kindle devices and apps, so my iPad/iPhone/Nook Color Android all can use that app and sync furthest part. The Kobo is left out…

The final straw was when I ordered a Nook Simple Touch Glow, ostensibly to give to my wife for Christmas because she reads at night, but then realized I only did it so I could have her old Nook because the ancient Kobo was too slow and wouldn’t sync with anything else. Ho. Lee. Crap. My inner goddess chewed her lip and started screaming “SLOW YOUR ROLL.” And this was after debating whether or not to pick up a Chromebook with 3G when they get released so I can be online anywhere. Whoa.

Am I spoiled? Yeah, maybe a little, but I don’t drive fancy cars (yes, I’m rocking a 13 year old SUV) or live in a huge mansion, and have no other vices (gambling, drugs, etc.) to spend my cash on. So I find myself addicted to the next big gadget.

So… am I alone? Anyone more overloaded than me? If so, let me know – I just got paid last week and it’s burning a hole in my pocket…itchin’ for a new device…

steve

  1. Daniel Kulinski
    December 11, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    I am a technology geek, but I lean more towards things that provide the ability to be tinkered with. I believe in the future technology will be tailored for you when you order it. Maybe you can have a tablet that is daylight readable and still has the great interface that the iPad has.

    • December 11, 2012 at 12:30 pm

      Ah, the ever-present rumor of color e-ink. Looking forward to that one.

  2. December 11, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    I am right there with you. I have an iPhone, 2 laptops (one smaller, for everyday use, and one 17-inch with a 10-key for stuff like taxes), 2 Nooks (the original and the simple touch), and a Samsung Galaxy Tab. I know I have a Nook HD on its way for Christmas, and I would have both an iPad and a MacBook if they would just fit into my budget… 😉

  3. December 11, 2012 at 3:24 pm

    I have a desktop, my husband has a laptop and we have a netbook. Recently I got a Kindle HD, an iphone and am drooling for an Ipad. Oh, and I have two ipods (8 gb and 16gb). Tech addicted? OMG yes!

  4. evpowers
    December 11, 2012 at 4:45 pm

    I recently bought a Dell Inspiron running Windows 7. I replaced an old Acer laptop that ran Windows XP, and had a broken “V” key. I no longer have a desktop computer, so I’m down to one. I have a 1st-generation iPad I use all the time. I bought an Apple wireless keyboard to use with the iPad when I write. The iPad runs serious-slow now; it’s been abandoned by Apple. A new one is somewhere in the horizon. I use the iPad for 99% of my reading, plus a lot of other stuff. I have an iPhone I do a little techie stuff on like scheduling. I’m not a tech-junkie, I just have a few devices I use a lot.

    Or am I in denial?

    • December 12, 2012 at 10:08 am

      Ev, we’re all in denial in some form or another… My wife thinks she’s a Luddite, yet she always seems to grab the iPad for sudoku or some such in the evening.

  5. December 11, 2012 at 6:36 pm

    Steve…we suffer from the same illness. I currently have and use a MacBook Pro, Lenovo ThinkPad X230 (Work machine), iPad 3, Nexus 7, Samsung Galaxy Tab 10, Kindle Fire (1st Gen), Garmin Nuvi, iPhone 4S, and Kindle 3rd Gen e-reader. Lots of cables and plugs, bro. We have three more MacBooks in the house, plus an MSI 17″ Gaming laptop (crazy fast rig), another iPad 2, and 2 more Kindle Fire tablets. We like screens.

    • December 12, 2012 at 10:08 am

      Atta guy Monty, you and me keeping the electric company in business.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Hit me:

