Home > Book Reviews > Review: In Her Name Empire by Michael Hicks

Review: In Her Name Empire by Michael Hicks

REVIEW: 

I have to admit, before I even get into this review, that I’m a fussy reader when it comes to genres. I like a very specific, narrow type of science fiction. I certainly read all types – Hamilton, Clarke, Heinlein, Baxter, etc. – and enjoy them, but there’s a type of scifi, I suppose what I call near-future military, that I really get into (as evidenced by the type of scifi I write). So I really dig David Weber, Tobias Buckell, Charles Sheffield, John Scalzi, et al. My problem is it’s difficult, in my opinion, to find such a specific type of scifi from a self-published author, or at least one that’s up to the standards of Weber and the others. That all changed when I picked up Michael Hicks’s In Her Name: Empire.

From chapter one, the introduction to the very young Reza Gard in a captivating scene where he loses his parents as they try to defend him, to subsequent chapters where he moves to an orphanage/near-slave labor planet, his capture by the invading aliens (a blue-skinned humanoid that may bring to mind Avatar, but these are much more…cold, yet fascinating), and Reza’s maturation with the aliens, Hicks grabbed a hold of my attention and never let go.

The characters are fully developed, the settings are beautifully described without going overboard, the creatures encountered, the battles fought, the technology, and finally even a dash of romance, are all told in clear, concise style that made me want to continue turning pages. And the best part? There are two more in the series, then Hicks goes back to before this story to add three more.

The spelling & grammar, formatting, punctuation, and sentence structure (I’ve got an OCD for these errors) are flawless – better than many traditionally published works. No really, flawless. Hats off to Mr. Hicks’s editor; some of the big publishers should look into hiring him/her. Those issues really stand out to me, pull me out of the story, but I found none.

All in all, one of the best science fiction (with a smidgen of fantasy) novels I’ve read in a long time – mainstream or self-published. And easily the best self-published scifi I’ve had the opportunity to lay my hands (and e-reader) on. Congrats, Mr. Hicks – you’ve got a winner, and a customer for the next five books in the series. You actually pushed David Weber’s 4th Safehold novel down my list.

Find In Her Name: Empire, here:

Amazon (Kindle only $.99) • Barnes & Noble (Nook) • Author’s Site (6 other books as well!)

  1. August 27, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    Great review, Steve. The popularity of this series is amazing. It is high on my TBR list. Mr. Hicks is by far one of the best writers in the industry. Season of the Harvest is the first book I’ve had the pleasure of reading, which I would say is in the style of the late Michael Crichton (one of my all-time favorite writers). When Mr. Crichton passed away, I was devastated. When I began reading Mr. Hicks’s work, I quickly found another favorite author. I look forward to reading all of the In Her Name books… after Gabriel’s Redemption, of course. 🙂

    Cheers!
    vV””Vv

    • August 27, 2011 at 2:20 pm

      Thanks Rob, appreciate the comments – and yes, I was hooked from chapter one. I’ll definitely be picking up Season of the Harvest; I loved Crichton’s work. Except Lost World – poo meant to go right to the big screen.

      -Steve

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Hit me:

